School Board Meeting Highlights

Township of Ocean Board of Education • 163 Monmouth Road • Oakhurst, New Jersey 07755

Number 4

January 19, 2005

At the Public Meeting on Tuesday, January 18, 2005, the Township of Ocean Board of Education took the following action:

Superintendent's Report:

Congratulations to the following students in Mrs. Fogler's 6th grade reading/language arts classes who have been accepted for publication for the Fall 2004 *Creative Communications* poetry anthology:

JORDAN ARDAKANIAN	HARRISON HAYES
JESSICA BEKAMPIS	NIKKI KOHLER
SAM DAVIDSON	THOMAS KRAEUTLER
MAYCEE DOBBS	MARTY MAUTERER
EMILIE DRUM	LEIGH NADELL
DOMINIQUE EDGERTON	SARA PENCHINA
JESSICA HARLOW	REBECCA WINSTON

Congratulations to the following winners from the respective 2005 Spelldowns held throughout the district:

TOIS	1 st Place – Jake Robins 2 nd Place – James Kodi 3 rd Place – Michael Rubino
OTES	1 st Place – Matthew Copin 2 nd Place – Ryan Klohr 3 rd Place – Christopher Beringer
Wayside	1 st Place – R.J. Steer 2 nd Place – Ben Jiang 3 rd Place – Jacob Pirogovsky
Wanamassa	1 st Place – Alyssa Piantinida 2 nd Place – Alex Krenkel 3 rd Place – Alexandra Vegh

Congratulations to the following Forensics team members for their achievements at the tournament at Hanover Park High School:

ANTONIA BORELLI, 11th grade, Fifth Place in Poetry JEFF SCHNABOLK, 9th grade, Sixth Place in Prose Interpretatio

The New Jersey Academy of Science has announced that **JENNIFER SHIN**, **ANDRES JEMENEZ**, **BRIAN LANYON**, **AND ERIN CONWAY**, have been awarded research grants up to \$100. for their primary research in the biological sciences funded by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. There were only 15 grants awarded to New Jersey students by this prestigious national organization. These students are sophomore honors biology students. Congratulations to these students.

Congratulations to the Ocean DECA Team on winning this year's Regional competition held this past week at Middlesex County College. The following students were overall first place winners:

ROB MISLAVSKY	SARI LaMELA
CRAIG MESSER	BEN RINDNER
STUART SCHNABOLK	ALI SCHWARTZ
ANTHONY PALAIA	CHRISTINE WORTH
MARK PEARSON	

Committee Reports:

1. Finance – Mr. John Oltarzewski

- All bills on the regular Bill List for December/January and payroll were approved for payment.
- The Board certified and accepted the monthly financial reports.
- Appropriation Transfers in the 2004-05 General Fund 10 were approved.
- Approval was given for the early payoff of the 2004 Student Scheduling software and equipment (SASI) lease to Marquette Bank, Lease No. 123405963.
- Approval was given for the early payoff of the 2001 Equipment Lease (telephone system, network equipment, buses and miscellaneous equipment) to First Hope Bank, Lease No. 1825941.
- Idea B Grant acceptance was approved.

2. Community Liaison & Communications Committee - Mr. Raymond J. Menell

- School Board Election Announcements were made:
 - Nominating petitions for the annual school election will be received by the Board Secretary on or before 4:00 p.m., a) Monday, February 28, 2005. The school election will be held on Tuesday, April 19, 2005. There will be three Board of Education members elected to three-year terms.
 - Also to be voted on will be the amount to be raised for local taxes to support the 2005-2006 school district budget. b)
 - Sample Ballots will be mailed from the county clerk to each registered voter. C)
- The following School Board Election Motions were approved:
 - a) Move for approval in compliance with State Statute 19:60-8, the Board will seek approval to establish 12:00 noon as the time and Wednesday, March 9, 2005 as the date for the drawing of the names for position on the ballot. Said drawing shall be held in the auditorium of the School District Administration Building and will be open to the public. b)
 - Move to approve the hours for the Annual School election to be from 7:00 am until 9:00 pm and \$14.29 per hour to be paid to election workers. This rate is consistent with the general election rates as determined by the county.

3. Instruction Committee – Mr. James R. Wagner

- Approval was given for Brookdale Community College students to observe.
- College students from Kean University and Monmouth University, were approved for Junior Practicum placement.
- Jesse Chen, a student at the University of Maryland, was approved to do a Winter Internship with Mr. Supko and the Technology Department for three weeks beginning January 5, 2005.
- Susan Malone, RN, was approved for a Nurse Practicum Internship with Kay Eifert, at the Intermediate School for approximately 15 weeks.
- Gloria Katz, MA, LDTC, CCC, PRSE, was approved to observe one student at the Wanamassa School during the month of January.
- The following summer programs were approved:
 - Video Encounter July 18-22
 - Ebay Biz Encounter July 25-29
 - Camp Invention June 27 July 1
- Dr. David Brodzinsky was approved to observe one student at the Children's Center during the month of January.
- Gordon Cousins was approved to complete a 90-hour supervisory internship with Justine Salvo at the Intermediate School.
- The following out of district private tuition placements were approved:

<u>School</u>	Student	Classification	Effective
CPC High Point Adolescent	1	ESERS	
Coastal Learning	1	ESERS	January 13, 2005

4. Operations & Maintenance Committee – Mrs. Denise Parlamas

- Use of school facilities were approved.
- Fire drill report for the month ending December 31, 2004 was approved.

5. Personnel Committee – Mr. Peter I. Bartlett

The Issuance of contracts were approved for the following:

Barbara Shaloo	Instructional Assistant Wanamassa School	Effective: February 1, 2005
Robert M. Buck	School Bus Mechanic	Effective: February 1, 2005
Karen Dunn	Social Worker	Effective: February 1, 2005
Andrea Donner	Basic Skills	Effective: February 1, 2005
	Wanamassa School	•
Louis Appleman	Bus Driver	Effective: February 1, 2005
A revised contract was app	proved for the following:	
TODIAL	Lie alth (Discosia al Educantia a	Effectives Esterior 4 0005

Tara Busichio	Health/Physical Education	Effective: February 1, 2005
	High School	Actual Start: January 10, 2005

Muriel Papa and Eva Dobrowski were approved as substitute Instruction Assistants.

- A Family Leave of Absence was approved, for Jennifer Yorke, Music Teacher, at the conclusion of her eligible sick leave and continuing for the remainder of the 2004-2005 school year. Her last day of work will be March 18, 2005.
- Colleen Moore was approved as a clerical substitute.
- The following advisors were approved:

Susan Reese	Coffeehouse - High School
James Soldo	Marching Band – High School

The retirement of Hedy Bright, Bus Driver, was approved, effective February 1, 2005.

- Substitute teachers were approved.
- A Maternity Leave of Absence was approved for Diana Spampanato, Basic Skills Teacher, at the conclusion of her eligible sick leave and continuing until June 30, 2005.
- Change on guide approval was given for staff members who have submitted proof of completion of their required courses.
- The resignation of Kevin Missett, High School Math Teacher, was approved effective February 4, 2005.

6. Planning & Construction Committee – Mr. William J. Garofalo

- Approval was given for the REP Process for Energy Conservation Measures.
- The Long Range Facilities Plan was approved.

7. Policy Committee – Mrs. Anne Marie Sparaco

- The following new job descriptions were approved:
 - Human Resource Clerk/Personnel
 - o Human Resource Clerk/Business Office

8. Transportation Committee – Mrs. Denise Parlamas

• Approval was given for the authorization to issue a RFP (Request for Proposal) for a 16 Passenger Special Education van.

The next regular meeting of the Township of Ocean Board of Education will be held on Tuesday, February 15, 2005 at 8:00 p.m. in the Auditorium of the Administration Building